Leadership in Action Awards

NAEM's Leadership in Action Awards recognize EHS&S leaders whose influence has strengthened organizational commitment to EHS&S excellence. See past award recipients here.


  • Accomplished corporate EHS&S leader/manager with a minimum of 15 years' experience in the fields of environment, health & safety and/or sustainability.
  • Champion of EHS&S initiatives through resourcing and funding.
  • Driver of transformational change to value and resource EHS&S initiatives across the organization.
  • Reputation for development and mentoring EHS&S talent.
  • Commitment to environmental stewardship, professionally and personally.

Submission Requirements

  • All EHS&S industry professionals, including corporate in-house employees, consultants, colleagues and teams, may nominate an individual for NAEM's Leadership in Action Awards.
  • Nominators may nominate more than one individual — a separate form is required for each nominee.
  • Self-nominations are welcome and encouraged.
  • Individuals who sit on NAEM's Board of Directors or Board of Regents are not eligible to be nominated.

Required Documents

  • The nomination form must be completed.
  • One letter of recommendation must accompany nomination.
*Incomplete forms will not be considered.


Visit our FAQ page.

2019 Award Recipients

Deborah Donovan

Deborah Donovan
Takeda Pharmaceutical Company
Senior Vice President, Corporate Environment, Health & Safety

Beth Holland

Beth Holland
Vice President, Operational Excellence - EHS & Sustainability

David Newman

David Newman
Comcast/NBC Universal
Executive Director, Health & Safety

Email Sign Up