Lifetime Achievement Award


NAEM's Lifetime Achievement Award is a prestigious award honoring an individual's contribution to their company and the environment, health & safety, and/or sustainability (EHS & Sustainability) fields. It recognizes an EHS & Sustainability leader whose vision and commitment has positively shaped the EHS & Sustainability fields within a corporate management role. See past award recipients here.


Nominees must have:
  • 20+ years of exceptional EHS&S performance, currently serving as an in-house EHS & Sustainability leader. (Retired executives who worked part of calendar year 2023 are eligible)
  • Distinguished service and leadership within the EHS & Sustainability profession
  • Demonstrated impact on organizational performance
  • Proven leadership effectiveness in the development of EHS & Sustainability professionals
  • Commitment to lifelong learning and advancing the EHS & Sustainability profession
  • Nominees need not be members of NAEM


  • Self-nominations are encouraged and accepted
  • All EHS & Sustainability industry professionals, including corporate in-house employees, consultants, colleagues and teams, may nominate an individual for the NAEM Lifetime Achievement Award
  • Nominators may nominate more than one individual — a separate form is required for each nominee.
  • Nominators need not be members of NAEM
  • Individuals who sit on NAEM's Board of Directors are not eligible to be nominated


  • The nomination form must be completed
  • Two letters of recommendation must be submitted with nomination
*Incomplete nominations will not be considered.


Nomination forms must be received by Friday, July 7, 2023


Visit our FAQ page.


Nominations are now closed. Join us at FORUM23 where we’ll announce this year’s recipients.

Past Award Recipients

Congratulations to these corporate EHS&S leaders whose vision and commitment has positively shaped the EHS&S field!

2019 Award Recipient

David Eherts

Dr. David Eherts
Allergan plc
Vice President, Global EHS

2018 Award Recipient


Wayne S. Balta
IBM Corp.
Vice President, Corporate Environmental Affairs & Product Safety

Email Sign Up